The Eight Limbs of Yoga

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

This program is designed to help you achieve a good grasp of Patanjali's 8 Limbs of Yoga through informative talks, yoga, Pranayama and meditation. Go deeper and truly enrich your yoga practice.

2324 others follow this program


Learn about the 8 Limbs of Yoga

In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, the definition of yoga is given as Yogas citta vrtti nirodhah (1.2) - Yoga is the cessation of the fluctuations of the mind. Meaning the stilling of all our repetitive, whirling thoughts, desires, analysis and judgments. Patanjali laid out the Eight Limbed Path of Yoga as the tools to help us control these fluctuations or Vrittis and to live a meaningful and purposeful life. They are:

  • The 5 Yamas
  • The 5 Niyamas
  • Asana
  • Pranayama
  • Pratyahara
  • Dharana 
  • Dhyana 
  • Samadhi

In this program, we'll explore each of the 8 Limbs of Yoga in turn. With a talk on each limb and a mix of yoga, meditation and Pranayama classes to help you explore each topic on a practical level. There is also plenty of recommended reading material for those who like to dive even deeper.

Who is it for?

This program is aimed at yoga students and teachers who want to learn more about yoga philosophy. It is available to all EkhartYoga members.

Program at a glance